What is General Convention?

The General Convention is the main governing body of the Church.  It is comprised of two houses: the House of Deputies and the House of Bishops.  It meets regularly every three years.  However, the House of Bishops meets regularly in between sessions of General Convention.

All bishops, whether active or retired, have seat and vote in the House of Bishops. Each diocese is entitled to representation in the House of Deputies by four clergy delegates (either priests or deacons) and four lay deputies. 

The convention is divided into committees which consider resolutions. Each resolution is referred to a convention committee which makes its recommendation to the House. When one house has acted on the resolution it is sent to the other house for consideration.  Resolutions must pass both houses in order to take effect. 

For more information on General Convention, or to see what legislation has passed, or is under consideration, please click here